From its earliest days as Native American Ohlone land, from the farming heaven known as The Valley of the Heart’s Delight to the Silicon Valley technology boom, Mountain Sight’s makeover has been amazing.
In 1842, over 8,000 acres– encompassing a lot of present-day Hill View– were approved to the Castro family by the Mexican federal government. They called their large residential property Rancho Pastoria de las Borregas. One more, smaller land give, called Rancho Posolmi, was owned by Inigo Lope on his genealogical Ohlone land in the North Bayshore location.
Hill View started as a stagecoach quit in between San Jose and also San Francisco in 1849. A blacksmith shop, store, resort, tavern, and institution were built along what is now El Camino Real. When the railway was constructed in 1864, the center of town shifted to Castro Road, near the train tracks.
The Mountain Sight Background Facility, located on the second flooring of the Collection, houses details regarding Hill Sight’s past. We gather and also protect books, maps, pictures, directory sites, papers, college yearbooks, and also other materials pertaining to Hill View’s heritage. We show artefacts that reflect both the altering and also enduring natures of the area when referred to as The Valley of the Heart’s Delight. The collection is owned collectively by the Library and also the Mountain View Historic Organization.
Much of our collection originates from donations of individual things. Potential enhancements to the collection are examined on an individual basis. As a result of the one-of-a-kind nature of the collection, materials kept in the Background Facility do not distribute.